As A Man Thinketh

When I was 15 years old I wrote an article based on the teachings of a book which I considered to be the perfect representation of many ideas that I believed in and introduced me to fresh ideas that I believed to be good guidelines for a young mind. Now that I am in college, living away from my parents, away from the protection of home and learning to embrace adulthood, I find the ideas that the innocent school girl shared in the article even more useful. 

 Mental and physical health are essential in order for us to be able to progress towards our interests and dreams. So here is the message from myself from the past to me now, to guide me to towards a life that is meaningful and simple by defining myself through my thoughts.

I chanced upon this book ‘As a Man Thinketh’ by James Allen which gave me fresh insight about enhancing ones quality of life. Let me share what I learnt from the book. We all are subject to emotions like anger, irritation, hopelessness, etc and we always have someone or the other to blame for this reaction. The truth is happiness is a choice we make. The world may go upside down but a person can always get out of his problem if he has the right attitude at the right time.

The aphorism, “As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he” not only embraces whole of a man’s being, but is so comprehensive as to reach out to every condition, circumstance and thought. A calm, noble man is not one who is so by chance; he is a person who is a result of repeated effort in positive as well as realistic thinking. By the same process, a person with bestial character is a result of polluted thoughts. A conscious effort should be made to do away with all negative thoughts and encourage all positive thoughts that come to our mind.
Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 5.58.43 PM

Every man is where his thoughts have lead him. It is the person’s choice to feel out of harmony with his surroundings or to be content with it. A person usually blames outside conditions  for a circumstance he is in. The moment he accepts that he is responsible for the situation he is, he becomes the right master of himself. A man only begins to be a man once he ceases to whine, complain and accuse others as the cause of his condition. A self-fulfilled man is one who builds himself up in strong and noble thoughts; ceases to kick against circumstances, and begins to use them as aids to his more rapid progress, and as a means of discovering the hidden powers and possibilities within himself.

People think that their thoughts can be kept secret, but they cannot. Your thoughts lead to habits and your habits lead to the circumstances you face. A man cannot directly choose his circumstances, but he can choose his thoughts, and so indirectly, yet surely, shape his circumstances.

Visible effects of your thoughts can also be seen. A sour face or a serene face does not come by chance; it is the outcome of your sour or serene thoughts respectively. I remember seeing the face of my great grandmother when she was 80. She had the bright, innocent face of a young girl. I am sure you all have come across a person whose persona reflected serenity.

I hope you all feed your mind with good and positive thoughts about what you want to do and be happy with yourself more than anything else.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

